Skip to content
Schedule Social Media

Press Esc to close.

Hootsuite

Checked 24 Oct 2026 · source · 9 networks · API yes · AI yes

Best for

Mid-size and larger teams that need publishing, inbox, listening and analytics in one platform and can pay per seat.

Skip it if

You are a solo creator or a small business. There is no free plan and plans start at $99 per user per month, billed annually.

Overview

Hootsuite is sold as a suite, and scheduling is one part of it. Every plan includes the inbox, core listening and benchmarking sit alongside publishing, and Enterprise adds employee advocacy and a Salesforce link. The vendor describes about 6,000 enterprise customers and 200,000+ users, which is a fair hint about who the pricing was designed for.

The pricing page is the part I would read twice. The plan cards show no amounts. The $99, $199 and $399 figures come from the FAQ and from structured data on the plans page, all per user per month and billed annually. The FAQ says month-to-month billing exists at a higher rate, but no number is published, so annual per-seat is the only price you can plan around. Standard stops at 10 social accounts. Professional and Advanced lift that cap, and Enterprise is quoted.

Several of the vendor's own pages disagree with each other. The plans page lists approvals under Advanced, while the approvals page names Advanced (multiple users), Business and Enterprise, and Business is not a plan on the plans page. The newer parallel approvals option has no plan stated at all. Instagram carousels are up to 20 photos on the publishing page and 10 in a blog post, and the two Reels blog posts give different length rules. The FAQ network list leaves out Bluesky even though the publishing page covers it. I would ask sales for the plan that includes approvals, and test a carousel, before committing a team.

Recent changes are mostly about AI and agents. There is a Lumen Agent giving 7-day Quick Search inside Wisdom, MCP servers for several products, and Instagram DM automation moved from one product (Perch) to another (Nest). The browser tools Hootlet and Hootfeed have been retired. Compared with schedulers priced by account or profile bundle, this is a seat-priced suite: the bill follows headcount, and the useful extras (Advanced Inbox, Advanced Analytics, Lumen listening) sit at the Enterprise end. On Standard, listening is a 7-day search.

What it does well

  • The inbox is on every plan and covers Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, TikTok and Threads, plus WhatsApp, which is outside the directory's network list.
  • Bulk Composer takes up to 350 posts from a CSV, which matters for agencies loading a month at once.
  • Approvals can run in up to three ordered layers with backup approvers and guest approvers, and Super Admins can now switch tiers to parallel notification.
  • Reports export to CSV, XLSX, PDF and PPT, and competitor benchmarking is included in all plans, with up to 20 competitors depending on plan.
  • The vendor lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022 and a DPA, and publishes a documented API (OAuth 2.0, 20 requests per second, 100,000 calls per day).

What to watch out for

  • There is no free plan, and the trial is limited to 10 to 20 posts per day per organization with no bulk scheduling, so you cannot test the 350-post workflow before paying.
  • Advanced Inbox, Advanced Analytics and Lumen listening are Enterprise items, and Threads listening needs Enterprise too.
  • Meta does not allow access to Threads mentions, audio or polls, so Threads support is narrower than the other networks.
  • Trustpilot shows 1.3 from 556 reviews while the iOS app shows 4.7 from 34,000 ratings; they measure different things, but the gap is wide enough that I would read recent reviews before signing.
  • I could not confirm first comment support for any network from the vendor's pages, and the Trust Center does not state 2FA or data location.

Plans and prices

PlanBilled monthlyBilled annually, per monthUnitWhat you get
Standard Not published $99 per user per month 10 social accounts
Professional Not published $199 per user per month Unlimited social accounts
Advanced Not published $399 per user per month Unlimited social accounts, approvals/team workflows
Enterprise Not published Not published custom Custom; contact sales

Free plan: No free plan; 14-day free trial (no card), trial limited to 10-20 posts/day per org, no bulk scheduling

Hootsuite's bill is seats times tier. Five people on Standard are 5 x $99 per month on annual billing, and the same five on Professional are 5 x $199, so moving a team up a tier costs far more than adding one more person. The 10 account cap on Standard is the other trigger, and a team covering several brands can pass it. Extra seats are a listed add-on, and prices exclude taxes. Month-to-month costs more, but the vendor does not say how much. The cheap-looking $99 stops being true when you need approvals, because the plans page puts them on Advanced at up to $399 per user. Enterprise is custom.

Networks listed by Hootsuite

  • Supports Facebook
  • Supports Instagram
  • Supports X
  • Supports LinkedIn
  • Supports TikTok
  • Supports YouTube
  • Supports Threads
  • Supports Bluesky
  • Supports Pinterest
  • Does not support Google Business
  • Does not support Mastodon

What Hootsuite does on each network

Only what the vendor's own pages state. A blank cell means the pages do not say.

NetworkPost typesPublishingFirst commentAnalyticsInbox
InstagramimagecarouselreelstoryAuto-publishYesYes
FacebookAuto-publishYesYes
XtextimageAuto-publishYesYes
LinkedIntextlinkimagesponsored post (Promote this post)Auto-publishYesYes
TikTokvideoAuto-publishYesYes
YouTubevideoAuto-publishYesNo
ThreadstextAuto-publishYesYes
BlueskytextimagegifvideoAuto-publish
PinterestpinAuto-publishYes
Instagram
Needs: Instagram Business account (publishing page, FAQ); blog says professional account, creator accounts can schedule Reels
Limits: Carousel up to 20 photos (publishing page); blog elsewhere says 10 (conflict); Reels 3 seconds to 15 minutes at 9:16 (2025 blog); location and account tags in Composer
hootsuite.com
Facebook
Needs: Posting to profiles, Pages and groups; Page posting needs Page Admin or Editor rights; groups need group Admin
Limits: Facebook Insights metrics deprecation noted in What's New
hootsuite.com
X
Limits: Composer previews the post and flags when it exceeds the character limit; inbox can filter by X search query
hootsuite.com
LinkedIn
Needs: Both LinkedIn profiles and pages can be connected
Limits: Bulk Composer up to 350 posts; character limit and video not covered by the 2025 blog; profile metrics in Post Performance since 2026-09-28
blog.hootsuite.com
TikTok
Needs: TikTok Business account
Limits: Comments, Duets and Stitches options set in Composer; page also lists recommended dimensions and length
hootsuite.com
YouTube
Limits: Comments moderated through Streams, not the inbox; analytics cover subscriber growth, engagement, views, average view duration; OwlyWriter AI writes titles and descriptions; catalog coverage in Lumen 15K accounts
hootsuite.com
Threads
Needs: Threads profile must be linked to a Meta Business account; included on every plan
Limits: Meta does not allow access to Threads mentions, audio or polls; post metrics include engagement rate, impressions, likes, replies, quotes, reposts, shares; listening on Threads needs Enterprise
hootsuite.com
Bluesky
Limits: Captions up to 300 characters, up to four images, one GIF or one video; FAQ network list omits Bluesky
hootsuite.com
Pinterest
Limits: Pins to public, private and shared boards; bulk limit of 350 posts applies
hootsuite.com

Publishing and scheduling

Calendar views
calendar view; list view (organic, paid, published and scheduled content); Planner
Bulk upload
Bulk Composer: up to 350 posts at once from a CSV (date and time, text, optional link) to a chosen profile or page; not available during trial
Best time suggestions
Recommended times in calendar and Composer; heat maps by network and goal; LinkedIn goals Increase engagement, Drive traffic, Build awareness (pages only)
Drafts and notes
Drafts supported (MCP page: drafts, content library search); pause scheduled posts during a crisis; team task assignment
Hashtag tools
Hashtag generator suggests hashtags from copy, images and videos
Link in bio
Hootbio: paid plans only, unlimited links with custom buttons, hootbio.com custom URL (slug changeable once every six months); oneclick.bio free on Enterprise
RSS and curation
Hootsuite Syndicator (RSS feeds) listed among integrations
Time zones
Page claims posts can flow when you are in a different time zone from followers; no setting described
Also listed
Custom approval workflows; Bulk tagging up to 50 posts in Planner (2026-09-30); Unlimited post scheduling on Standard; Vanity URLs and Ow.ly link shortening with click tracking; Parallel approvals option (2026-09-21); Bluesky captions up to 300 characters, 4 images, 1 GIF or 1 video; Composer flags X posts over the character limit; TikTok comments, Duets and Stitches settings in Composer; Pinterest pins to public, private and shared boards; whole boards schedulable; Instagram DM automation by comment keyword (Instagram posts and Reels only)

Sources: hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com

Teams, approvals and clients

Seats
Sold per user seat; Standard up to 10 social accounts, Professional/Advanced/Enterprise unlimited accounts
Roles
Admins and Super Admins assign creators (drafts need approval) and approvers (editors); permissions scoped by posts, messages or comments; any member with account access can be asked to approve one post
Approvals
Ordered layered approvals with up to three layers, backup approvers, Ask for approval in Composer, approval history; Parallel option notifies all tiers at once (2026-09-21); on Advanced (multiple users), Business and Enterprise per approval page; plans page lists approvals under Advanced
Client access
Guest approvers supported in approval chains

Sources: hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com

Content creation and AI

AI features
Wisdom (formerly OwlyWriter AI): Drafts on-brand posts, suggests trends, builds campaign concepts and content calendars, publishes approved content; AI post and image generation: Standard plan; ideas, captions, hashtags, images; AI smart replies: Suggests context-aware replies by sentiment and intent; AI classifiers and automations: Tag, categorize, route or resolve incoming messages with plain-language prompts; 90-day trend forecasting: Professional and above; AI analytics insight cards: Insight cards, anomaly detection, trend prediction; up to 6 AI summaries per page (2026-09-23); Generative AI chatbot: Enterprise; answers customer questions from approved knowledge center; Yeti Agent / Blue Silk AI: Talkwalker-side listening agents and engine
AI credits
Not stated; AI page mentions no credits or usage caps
Design tools
Canva; Adobe Express; Lumen5; Vidyard
Media library
Digital asset management integrations: Bynder, Acquia, Dropbox
Links and UTM
Ow.ly link shortening with tracking; vanity URLs; Hootbio

Sources: hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com

Analytics and reporting

Metrics
reach; engagement rate; impressions; likes; shares; saves; clicks; video views; follower counts; comments; new and total followers; profile visits; website clicks; paid: reach, click-through rate, cost per click (Instagram, Facebook, X, LinkedIn); Data freshness: Facebook daily, Instagram about every 48 hours (up to 64 hours); Advanced Analytics add-on: ROI analysis, custom metrics, Google Analytics and Adobe Analytics integrations (Enterprise); Network coverage: Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest, YouTube, Threads
Competitor tracking
Competitive and industry benchmarking in all plans; up to 20 competitors depending on plan; Enterprise more
Report exports
csv; xlsx; pdf; ppt
Data history
Not stated; AI page cites 13 months of historical data for benchmarking

Sources: hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com

Inbox and engagement

Inbox
Every plan includes the inbox: Facebook, Instagram, X, WhatsApp, LinkedIn, TikTok, Threads; assign conversations, route by skill, agents set available or away; Advanced Inbox is an Enterprise add-on
Listening
Core listening and trend tracking on all plans (7-day search on Standard); Lumen by Talkwalker on Enterprise covers up to 150 million websites, 30 social channels, 187 languages (FAQ)
Reviews
Review integrations: Google My Business, ReviewTrackers
Automation
Saved replies, auto-responders, AI classifiers, auto-resolve rules, boomerang messages; Instagram DM automation by comment keyword moved from Perch to Nest (2026-09-29); inbox filter by X search query

Sources: hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, apps.apple.com

Integrations, API and apps

Integrations
Google My Business; ReviewTrackers; Salesforce; HubSpot; Monday.com; Wrike; Asana; Slack; Proofpoint; Canva; Adobe Express; Lumen5; Vidyard; Bynder; Acquia; Dropbox; Google Analytics; Shopview for Shopify; Zendesk; Upfluence; TrueLoyal; Panoramiq Insights; Fedica; Hootsuite Syndicator (RSS); oneclick.bio; Reddit search; Perch MCP; Nest MCP; Lumen MCP; Parliament MCP; Kinetiq; Zendesk via OAuth 2.0; MCP servers: connectors for ChatGPT and Claude; Microsoft Copilot and Gemini need a remote MCP server URL
MCP server
Yes
Public API
Yes
API docs
https://apidocs.hootsuite.com/docs/api/index.html
API authentication
OAuth 2.0
API rate limits
20 requests per second and 100,000 calls per day; HTTP 429 when exceeded; X-Account-Quota headers
iOS app
iOS app, requires iOS 18.0 or later, free with in-app purchases
Android app
Hootsuite Mobile Application listed on status page; Android details not read
Browser extension
Hootlet and Hootfeed support ended (What's New title)

Sources: hootsuite.com, developer.hootsuite.com, apps.apple.com, hootsuite.com

Pricing details

Billing model
Per user seat per month; Standard from $99, Professional from $199, Advanced up to $399 (FAQ), Enterprise custom
Annual discount
Annual billing gives a lower per-user monthly rate than month-to-month (amount not stated)
Trial
14-day free trial on Standard, Professional and Advanced; no credit card; 10 to 20 posts per day per organization and no bulk scheduling during trial
Add-ons
Advanced Analytics (Enterprise add-on); Extra user seats; Advanced Inbox (Enterprise add-on); oneclick.bio free on Enterprise; Payment: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, JCB, PayPal; Enterprise annual invoices by card, check, wire or ACH; prices exclude taxes
Discounts
Discounted rate for nonprofits on some plans, apply to qualify
Cancellation
Plans page header says cancel anytime; trial does not charge automatically when it ends
Currencies
USD

Sources: hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com

Security and compliance

GDPR
Listed on Trust Center; FAQ says it complies with GDPR, CCPA and PIPEDA; DPA available
SOC 2
SOC 2 Type II listed on Trust Center (FY25 report); SOC 3 also listed
ISO 27001
ISO 27001:2022 listed (certificate shared with Talkwalker); ISO 27017, 27018, 27701 also listed
Single sign-on
Included in Enterprise plan; SCIM enhancements for roles and lifecycle management in What's New
Two-factor login
Not stated on Trust Center
Data location
Not stated on Trust Center
Status page
https://status.hootsuite.com/ (Atlassian Statuspage; components Web App, Mobile App, Sparkcentral, Talkwalker)
Platform partner status
Other listed on Trust Center: CCPA, CSA STAR 1, Cyber Essentials, FedRAMP Li-SaaS, PCI, TX-RAMP, VPAT, DORA, ICO registration; FAQ also calls it HIPAA-friendly

Sources: hootsuite.com, trustcenter.hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, status.hootsuite.com

Support and onboarding

Support channels
Help Center; Expert onboarding and support (Enterprise); Hootsuite Academy; Security contact security@hootsuite.com
Help centre
https://help.hootsuite.com/hc/en-us
Training
Hootsuite Academy: free self-paced, 4 training programs and 9 short courses, needs account or trial; no certifications listed
Onboarding
Expert onboarding and support listed for Enterprise

Sources: hootsuite.com, hootsuite.com, trustcenter.hootsuite.com

About the company

Founded
2008

Source: hootsuite.com

What review sites show

Scores and counts as the review site displays them on the date shown. They are other people's ratings, not ours.

SiteScoreReviewsChecked
Trustpilot1.35562026-10
App store4.7340002026-10

Recent product changes

Limits the vendor documents

  • Trial accounts: 10 to 20 posts per day per organization and no bulk scheduling(hootsuite.com)
  • Standard plan covers up to 10 social accounts(hootsuite.com)
  • Advanced listening with Lumen is Enterprise only; Threads listening needs Enterprise(hootsuite.com)
  • Meta does not allow access to Threads mentions, audio or polls(hootsuite.com)
  • Instagram and TikTok scheduling require a Business account; Facebook Page posting needs Page Admin or Editor(hootsuite.com)
  • YouTube comments are moderated through Streams, not the inbox(hootsuite.com)
Pages read for this profile (30)

Pick Hootsuite if

Pick Hootsuite if you run a team that wants publishing, a shared inbox and reporting under one login, and your budget is built per seat. It also suits organizations that need layered approvals with outside approvers. Skip it if you are a solo creator or a small business: with no free plan and $99 per user as the floor, the price is the main reason to look elsewhere. Also skip it if you need to test bulk scheduling during the trial, because the trial blocks it.

Questions people ask

Does Hootsuite have a free plan?

No. There is a 14-day free trial with no credit card, limited to 10 to 20 posts per day per organization and with no bulk scheduling.

How much does Hootsuite cost?

Standard is $99, Professional $199 and Advanced $399 per user per month on annual billing. Enterprise is custom. Month-to-month billing exists at a higher rate that the vendor does not publish.

How many social accounts does Hootsuite allow?

Standard covers up to 10 social accounts. Professional, Advanced and Enterprise are listed as unlimited.

Does Hootsuite have an API?

Yes. The vendor documents a public API with OAuth 2.0 and limits of 20 requests per second and 100,000 calls per day. The pages I read do not say which plans include API access.

Alternatives

Tools for a similar audience that share the most networks with Hootsuite.

How we checked

$99/$199/$399 confirmed as 'billed annually' per user/month (schema.org data on plans page). FAQ says month-to-month billing exists at a higher rate, but no monthly price is published, so monthlyPriceUSD is null. Google Business Profile posting is via a separate Google My Business app integration, not built in, so it's excluded. Mastodon not supported. AI = 'Wisdom' assistant (post/image generation). The developer REST API (developer.hootsuite.com) is confirmed only by third-party sources; production keys reportedly need approval.

Get an email when a platform changes its API

One email per new entry: what changed, who is affected, and the deadline.

Follow with RSS, or per platform, for example X or Meta.