Skip to content
Schedule Social Media

Press Esc to close.

PlanPost

Checked 25 Oct 2026 · source · 7 networks · API yes · AI yes

Best for

Solo founders and small teams who want scheduling with revenue attribution, plus an API and MCP server so AI agents can post for them.

Skip it if

You need Pinterest, Bluesky, Google Business Profile or Mastodon, or you want a free plan.

Overview

PlanPost schedules posts to seven networks: Instagram, Facebook Pages, X, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok and Threads. Instagram can be connected two ways, through a Facebook Page or with a direct Instagram login, and it needs a Business or Creator account either way. The product has a month, week and day calendar, a best-time heatmap built from an account's own engagement history, CSV or JSON bulk import, and per-network copy and media overrides on a single post. Before a post goes out it shows advisory warnings for length, hashtag count and media rules, and a background queue retries a failed publish up to three times.

Two things set its shape. The first is revenue attribution: posts carry tracked short links, and clicks are matched to sales from Stripe, Shopify or RevenueCat, first by direct click and then by a 30-day last-click window, with click events deleted after 90 days. The second is its agent surface. A hosted MCP server with 47 tools and a public API with 24 permission scopes let an AI assistant draft, schedule and publish. API keys that act for an agent require human approval by default, so agent-made posts wait in an approval queue unless that is switched off.

On the writing side there is an AI post assistant, repurposing from blog or RSS content into six networks, image generation, a carousel builder with ten layout families, brand kits and a media library. Video Studio, which renders from 19 video compositions, and the AI chat are both labelled Beta in the app, and so is the approval workflow. Approvals have four statuses, a none, optional or required mode per team, and review links that work without an account. Team roles are owner, admin, editor and viewer, with a separate approver flag.

The product is narrower than the large suites in several places. X posts are sent as text only, and attached images and video are skipped. There is no free plan, no unified inbox, no recurring or evergreen queue, no link in bio, no competitor tracking, no hashtag tool and no outbound webhooks, Zapier or Make. There is no mobile app in the app stores, and Bluesky cannot be connected in the app. The vendor's own pages disagree with the product on the number of networks (eight on several pages, seven in the app) and on whether the trial needs a card, which it does.

What it does well

  • Ties each post to revenue through tracked links and Stripe, Shopify or RevenueCat data, which most schedulers do not offer at all.
  • Gives AI assistants a hosted MCP server with 47 tools and an API with scoped keys, and requires approval for agent posts by default.
  • Documents its per-network limits in the composer: for example 2,200 characters and up to 10 carousel items on Instagram, 3,000 on LinkedIn and 500 on Threads.
  • Offers up to five automatic follow-up comments per post on Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn and X, plus per-network copy overrides.
  • Approval links work without an account, and editing a post resets its approvals, so a reviewer never signs off on stale copy.

What to watch out for

  • X posts are text only: the publisher skips attached images and video.
  • Creator allows only 50 posts in the schedule queue at a time, so the 1,000 posts a month cannot all be scheduled far ahead.
  • Quotas are hard limits that block the action, and there is no metered overage, so a busy month means an upgrade or waiting.
  • No free plan, no inbox, no recurring or evergreen queue, no link in bio and no outbound webhooks, Zapier or Make.
  • Approvals, Video Studio and AI chat are marked Beta, and the vendor lists multi-level approvals and Slack alerts as planned, not shipped.

Plans and prices

PlanBilled monthlyBilled annually, per monthUnitWhat you get
Creator $19.99 Not published per month 15 social accounts, 1,000 posts/month, 50 posts/day, 50 AI credits
Pro $39.99 Not published per month Unlimited accounts and posts, 200 AI credits, revenue attribution
Enterprise Not published Not published custom Custom

Two paid plans, both priced per workspace, with Enterprise on request. Creator starts at $19.99 a month and includes 15 social accounts, 1 team member, 1,000 posts a month, 50 posts a day, 50 queued scheduled posts, 50 AI credits and 1 GB of storage. Pro is $39.99 a month with unlimited accounts and posts, 10 team members, 200 AI credits and 50 GB, and it is the plan that adds revenue attribution, approvals and brand voice. The limits are what grow the bill: AI credits cost 1 for text and 5 for an image, extra credits come in packs of 100 or 500, and API and MCP calls are capped at 1,000 a month on Creator and 10,000 on Pro. Annual prices are not published on the pages read.

Networks listed by PlanPost

  • Supports Facebook
  • Supports Instagram
  • Supports X
  • Supports LinkedIn
  • Supports TikTok
  • Supports YouTube
  • Supports Threads
  • Does not support Bluesky
  • Does not support Pinterest
  • Does not support Google Business
  • Does not support Mastodon

What PlanPost does on each network

Only what the vendor's own pages state. A blank cell means the pages do not say.

NetworkPost typesPublishingFirst commentAnalyticsInbox
Facebooktextimagemulti-imagevideoreelAuto-publishYesYesNo
InstagramimagecarouselvideoreelstoryAuto-publishYesYesNo
XtextthreadreplyquoteAuto-publishYesYesNo
LinkedIntextimagemulti-imagevideoAuto-publishYesYesNo
TikTokvideoAuto-publishNoYesNo
YouTubevideoshortAuto-publishNoYesNo
ThreadstextimagevideoAuto-publishNoNoNo
Facebook
Needs: Facebook Page connected through Facebook Login
Limits: Text up to 63,206 characters. Option to publish as a Page draft.
planpo.st
Instagram
Needs: Business or Creator account, connected via a Facebook Page or via direct Instagram login
Limits: Caption 2,200 characters, up to 30 hashtags, media required, carousels up to 10 items. Images need aspect ratio 4:5 to 1.91:1 and width of at least 320 px. Links in captions are not clickable.
planpo.st
X
Needs: X account connected with OAuth 2.0
Limits: 280 characters per post. Posts are sent as text only: attached images and video are skipped on X.
planpo.st
LinkedIn
Needs: LinkedIn member profile connected with the w_member_social permission
Limits: 3,000 characters. Up to 9 images per post.
planpo.st
TikTok
Needs: TikTok account connected with the Content Posting API
Limits: Caption 2,200 characters, video only. Per-post privacy level, comment, duet and stitch toggles, and commercial content disclosure are set in the composer.
planpo.st
YouTube
Needs: YouTube channel connected with upload and read-only permissions
Limits: Description 5,000 characters, one video per post. Title, tags, category, privacy status and made-for-kids are set per upload.
planpo.st
Threads
Needs: Threads account connected through the Threads API
Limits: 500 characters. Only the first attached image or video is used.
planpo.st

Publishing and scheduling

Calendar views
Month; Week; Day; Drag-and-drop; posts groupable by type
Queue
Posts publish through a background job queue with 3 attempts and backoff. A queue pause toggle exists. Pro adds per-group posting-queue slots with an add-to-queue option.
Bulk upload
Bulk page accepts CSV or JSON with content, scheduledFor and mediaUrl columns. The API bulk endpoint takes up to 50 posts per call. Bulk video scheduling is also offered.
Recurring and evergreen posts
Not described; a weekly posting queue with slots exists (get_posting_schedule, set_posting_schedule)
Best time suggestions
Best-time heatmap and suggested slots per network. Uses the account's own engagement history, with industry default windows when data is thin.
Drafts and notes
Drafts, a drafts tray and an In review status. Facebook posts can be sent as drafts to the Page. No internal notes field found.
First comment
Up to 5 follow-up comments per post are published automatically after the post goes live, on Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn and X.
Hashtag tools
Not mentioned in the tools docs; LinkedIn guide advises three hashtags at most
Link in bio
No link-in-bio page described; bio links and Story link stickers can be wrapped in tracked redirects
RSS and curation
Content sources import from WordPress sites and RSS feeds, with a manual type. Imported items feed the repurpose tool and the MCP server.
Time zones
Each post stores its own time zone. The schedule picker and the API create_post call accept a time zone.
Also listed
Per-platform copy and media overrides on a single post; Advisory warnings before publishing: length, hashtag count, media rules, aspect ratio; Image crop tool with Instagram aspect presets 4:5, 1:1 and 1.91:1; Saved post templates in the composer; Tracked short links or UTM tagging, chosen per post; X threads split into segments; Account groups as named sets of connected accounts; Link preview and per-network post preview in the composer; Pause or resume the whole calendar with one click; Duplicate a winning post; preview_post shows per-platform character counts and warnings; Composer counts characters live per platform and per thread segment; Media checked against Instagram aspect-ratio rules before publish; Vendor says posts publish via official APIs with no reminder notifications (Instagram, TikTok); Five post types in composer: post, thread, reel, short, story (blog post Sep 2026); Campaigns group related posts; account groups bundle connections per brand; Failed posts show the platform error

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Teams, approvals and clients

Seats
Creator: 1 team member. Pro: 10 team members.
Roles
Owner, admin, editor and viewer. Any member can also be given an approver role.
Approvals
Statuses draft, in review, approved or changes requested. Team mode none, optional or required. Review through in-app decisions or a no-account approval link with comments and optional expiry. Editing a post resets its approvals. Labelled Beta in the app.
Client access
Reviewers can approve or comment through a public link without an account. No separate client login found.
White label
Not mentioned
Workspaces and brands
Account groups bundle connected accounts, revenue sources and Google Analytics or Search Console properties for scoped analytics. Creator: 5 groups. Pro: unlimited.

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Content creation and AI

AI features
Post assistant: Drafts and rewrites copy in the composer using OpenAI models, costs 1 credit per generation; Content repurposing: Turns a URL or imported article into drafts for X, LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and YouTube, 1 credit per network; AI image generation: DALL-E 3 images, 5 credits each; Brand voice: Analyses sample text into a reusable voice prompt applied to AI output, Pro plan only; Carousel text generation: Splits long-form content into slide text for the carousel builder; AI chat: Chat assistant that can list accounts, draft, schedule and publish posts, labelled Beta; AI co-pilot drafts platform-native posts from one idea: Covers X, LinkedIn, Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube; AI image generation: generate_image costs 1 AI credit; Content repurposing and carousel text generation: repurpose_content saves AI-repurposed content as drafts; generate_carousel writes slide text from long-form content; Brand voice profiles: Listed as a Pro feature in the FAQ; MCP-driven drafting with brand voice prompt: get_brand_voice_prompt returns a system prompt for writing in the user's tone
AI credits
Creator 50 credits per month, Pro 200. One-time top-up packs of 100 or 500 credits that do not expire. Pack prices are set in Stripe.
Design tools
Carousel builder with 10 template families, 40 colour palettes, portrait 1080x1350, square 1080x1080 and story 1080x1920 formats; Video Studio editor, labelled Beta; Brand kits holding palette, fonts, logo and handle; Image crop tool; Carousel renderer with design families, palettes, fonts, branded PNG output; Brand kits (palette, fonts, logo, handle)
Media library
Media library for uploads and rendered assets. Storage 1 GB on Creator, 50 GB on Pro. Stock photo and video search is wired to Pexels.
Templates
Saved post templates, 19 video compositions (hooks, listicles, quotes, promos, testimonials, story polls and slideshows) and 10 carousel families.
Links and UTM
Tracked redirect links per post, or UTM tagging with per-post overrides. Click events are kept for 90 days.
Video tools
Template-based video rendering with Remotion. Creator 20 renders per month, Pro 100. Renders can be started from the API and MCP server.

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Analytics and reporting

Metrics
Impressions; Reach; Views; Likes; Comments; Shares; Saves; Engagement rate; Link clicks; Video views and completion rate; Facebook reactions by type; Instagram story metrics; YouTube watch time and subscribers gained or lost; Per-post attributed revenue; revenue attributed per post; revenue by platform; MRR (Stripe, RevenueCat, Shopify); transactions; reach and profile-visit trends (Instagram, per vendor); cost per click
Competitor tracking
Not mentioned
Report exports
CSV
Data history
No plan-based retention cap. The networks limit how far back data can be fetched. Post metrics refresh at most every 15 minutes.
White label reports
Not mentioned; agency page says attribution can be used in client reports

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Inbox and engagement

Inbox
No unified inbox. Post detail page lists audience comments and lets the user reply on Instagram and Facebook posts.
Listening
Not mentioned
Reviews
Not mentioned
Automation
Not mentioned for engagement; AI agents can draft, schedule and read revenue over MCP

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Integrations, API and apps

Integrations
Stripe (read-only restricted key); Shopify (OAuth); RevenueCat; Google Analytics 4; Google Search Console; WordPress and RSS content sources; MCP server for Claude, Cursor and other MCP clients; Stripe (read-only restricted key plus webhook); Shopify (OAuth, scopes read_orders, read_customers, read_products, paid-order webhook); RevenueCat (read-only API key plus webhook); WordPress; RSS; MCP clients: Claude Code, Cursor, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT, Gemini CLI, Codex CLI, Google Antigravity, Hermes Agent; Hosted MCP: https://mcp.planpo.st/mcp (Streamable HTTP); local: npx -y planpost-mcp (stdio, Node 18+, MIT, npm package planpost-mcp); REST API: 60 endpoints; MCP page states both 45 and 47 tools
MCP server
Yes
Public API
Yes
API docs
https://planpo.st/docs/api
API authentication
API key sent as Authorization Bearer pk_live_ or X-API-Key header, with 24 permission scopes such as posts:read, posts:write and revenue:read
API rate limits
Per key, default 60 requests per minute, configurable from 1 to 1,000. Monthly call quota Creator 1,000, Pro 10,000.
API plans
Any paid plan. Brand voice endpoints need Pro.
iOS app
Not mentioned
Android app
Not mentioned
Desktop app
Not mentioned
Browser extension
Not mentioned

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Pricing details

Billing model
Two paid plans, Creator and Pro, priced per workspace; Enterprise on request
Trial
7 days, started through Stripe Checkout with a card, once per user
Free plan
No free plan. A logged-in user without a subscription can connect up to 3 accounts and all other quotas are 0.
Add-ons
AI credit packs of 100 or 500, one-time purchase
Overage
Quotas are hard limits that block the action. No metered overage billing found.
Refunds
Terms state fees are non-refundable except where required by law
Cancellation
Cancel at any time from Settings, takes effect at the end of the billing period
Currencies
USD; USD (dollar sign shown)

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Security and compliance

GDPR
Privacy policy has a GDPR and UK GDPR rights section, lists subprocessors under data processing terms, and a data deletion page exists
Data location
Application servers in Nuremberg, Germany; database and media storage regions are not stated
Status page
Footer shows an 'all systems normal' indicator; no separate status page URL found
Platform partner status
Vendor describes the YouTube app as Google-verified (channel page); Connects via official Meta, LinkedIn, X, TikTok and Google APIs (vendor states)

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Support and onboarding

Support channels
In-app support form; Email; Web contact form at /support; Email hello@planpo.st (data deletion page); Email support@planpo.st (privacy page); Priority support and dedicated success manager on Enterprise
Help centre
https://planpo.st/docs
Training
Docs plus blog how-to guides and per-network guides
Onboarding
Onboarding email series and in-app first-run view. Priority support is listed for Pro only.

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

About the company

Team size
Not stated; about page says the product is built for teams of one and one hundred (customers, not staff)

Sources: planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st, planpo.st

Recent product changes

  • 2026-10-24

    Blog: From Blog Post to Social Campaign with Content Sources

    Describes content sources (WordPress, RSS, manual), daily or weekly auto-check, category filter, one draft per platform at one AI credit each, saved as drafts by default.

  • 2026-10-06

    Blog: Keeping AI-Drafted Content On-Brand

    Describes brand voice profiles per brand (tone, vocabulary, banned words, examples) fed to built-in AI or an agent over MCP. States brand voice is a Pro feature, not in Creator.

  • 2026-10-03

    Blog: Which Social Media Schedulers Have an MCP Server?

    States the MCP server is hosted or an npm package with 47 tools across seven networks, incl. revenue tools. Author-stated gaps: no self-hosting, no free tier, no unified inbox.

  • 2026-09-24

    Blog: Scheduling Every Format from One Composer

    Lists five post types (post, thread, reel, short, story), campaigns, account groups, approvals, time suggestions. Story stickers, polls and collab posts are not handled in the composer.

  • 2026-09-15

    Blog: Client Approval Workflows

    Describes tokenised review links needing no client account, three decision states, optional auto-publish on approval, one pending approval per post, 24 hour reminder, revocable links. Calls the product pre-launch.

  • 2026-09-09

    Blog: Repurpose One Piece of Content

    Author states the product can now extract content ideas from a URL.

  • 2026-08-25

    Blog: Let Claude Post for You

    Describes the planpost-mcp server, API key auth, tools such as create_post, generate_carousel, get_best_times, get_analytics, bulk_create_posts; Creator and Pro plans after a 7-day trial.

  • 2026-08-22

    Blog: Add an MCP Server to Gemini CLI

    Gives hosted endpoint https://mcp.planpo.st/mcp (streamable HTTP, bearer key) and local npx setup. States agent-scheduled posts go to an approval queue by default and this can be turned off.

  • 2026-08-17

    Blog: Social Media Agent That Runs Your Calendar (updated)

    Page updated 2026-08-17. States anything an agent schedules goes into an approval queue by default; lists tools such as repurpose_content, suggest_schedule, publish_post, get_revenue_overview.

  • 2026-08-13

    Blog: Stripe and Shopify Attribution Walkthrough

    Describes per-post tracked short links, Stripe and Shopify webhooks, attribution as a floor. States revenue attribution is a Pro feature.

Limits the vendor documents

  • X posts are sent as text only, attached media is skipped
  • Bluesky cannot be connected in the app
  • Instagram does not make links in captions clickable and rejects images outside 4:5 to 1.91:1
  • No free plan, and approvals and team seats are Pro features
  • Quotas are hard limits: Creator allows 50 posts in the schedule queue and 1,000 posts per month
  • Attributed revenue is described as a floor, not a complete figure. Cross-device purchases, dark social, copied links and delayed searches may not match to a post.(planpo.st)
  • Stripe: only the first payment of a subscription is attributed to a post. Renewals appear in revenue totals but are not credited per post.(planpo.st)
  • Shopify: refunds are not subtracted automatically; reconcile them in Shopify. Instagram feed posts drive orders indirectly, so Instagram attribution is a floor.(planpo.st)
Pages read for this profile (89)

Pick PlanPost if

Pick it if you publish to its seven networks and want posts tied to sales, or if you want an AI assistant to schedule through an MCP server with human approval as the default. Skip it if you need Bluesky, Pinterest, Mastodon or Google Business, a free plan, a shared inbox, evergreen recycling, or images and video on X.

Questions people ask

Does PlanPost have a free plan?

No. It has a 7-day trial that is started with a card, then two paid plans, Creator from $19.99 a month and Pro at $39.99 a month.

Which networks does PlanPost publish to?

Instagram, Facebook Pages, X, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok and Threads. Bluesky is not offered in the app, and some pages on the vendor's site say eight networks.

Can an AI assistant post through PlanPost?

Yes. It has an MCP server with 47 tools and a public API with 24 scopes. Keys used by agents require approval by default, so posts wait for a human to approve them.

How does PlanPost track revenue from posts?

Posts carry tracked short links. Clicks are matched to sales from Stripe, Shopify or RevenueCat by direct click first, then by a 30-day last-click window.

Alternatives

Tools for a similar audience that share the most networks with PlanPost.

How we checked

Annual prices are shown on the pricing page but rendered by JavaScript, so they are not listed here.

Get an email when a platform changes its API

One email per new entry: what changed, who is affected, and the deadline.

Follow with RSS, or per platform, for example X or Meta.