Skip to content
Schedule Social Media

Press Esc to close.

Typefully

Checked 24 Oct 2026 · source · 5 networks · API yes · AI yes

Best for

Writers and founders focused on text-first posting and threads on X, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky and Mastodon.

Skip it if

You need Instagram, TikTok, Facebook or YouTube. Typefully covers text-first networks only.

Overview

Typefully is a writing tool first and a scheduler second. The vendor describes its audience as creators and businesses, claims 10,000+ customers, and calls itself a small remote team without giving a headcount. The directory lists five networks: X, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky and Mastodon. It also publishes Substack Notes, which falls outside that list and is limited to Notes: up to 10,000 characters, up to 6 images or GIFs, no video, no long-form newsletters.

Pricing needs a caveat. The pricing page renders client side and shows no readable figures in plain text, so the amounts below come from the vendor's own site code, and you should confirm them at checkout. The vendor's help articles name three plans: Free, Creator and Business. Free is 1 social set and 10 posts a month with no AI assistant or analytics. Creator is $8.25 a month billed as $99 a year, yearly only, for 1 social set, 1,000 posts a month, AI and analytics, but no teams. Business is $20 a month, or $18 on annual billing, per social set, up to 50 sets, 1,500 posts a month and unlimited team members. A social set is one account per network, and the collaboration article says inviting collaborators needs Business or a legacy Team or Agency plan.

In shape it differs from the broad schedulers. There is no inbox, no listening, no media library, no link in bio and no bulk upload in what the vendor documents. What it has instead is depth on text networks: X threads of up to 50 posts, polls on X, LinkedIn, Threads and Mastodon (added October 12), quote posts on Bluesky, Mastodon and Substack, reply controls on X, LinkedIn PDF carousels up to 100 MB and 300 pages, and X-only growth tools such as auto-retweet, auto-plug and auto-DM.

Recent changes lean toward AI and agents: a Claude connector listed on 2026-09-18, and on 2026-10-20 a Writing Assistant that works through open draft comments. The vendor also published a post-mortem for a security incident dated 2026-06-09, where a changelog CMS was exploited, 153 users were affected, and the vendor says passwords and connected account credentials were not exposed. I did not find a SOC 2, ISO 27001, SSO, 2FA or status page statement. The privacy policy cites GDPR rights and Standard Contractual Clauses, and the vendor lists OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI and Groq as AI subprocessors, saying data is never used for model training.

What it does well

  • It handles the text networks in more detail than most broad tools, including threads of up to 50 posts on X, quote posts on Bluesky and Mastodon, and a choice of who can reply to X posts.
  • Scheduling follows each social set's own time zone, and the queue offers saved slots, a Next slot option and Suggested Times on X, plus Natural Posting Times that adds up to 4 minutes of variation.
  • The people side is loose: no cap on teammates, four roles from Read-only to Admin, free-account members can join paid teams, and anyone with a draft link and a free account can comment.
  • API keys carry READ, WRITE, PUBLISH or ADMIN permission per social set, and Zapier and MCP are listed as integrations.
  • LinkedIn gets a first comment that goes live with the post and PDF carousel upload, so you do not need a separate designer step.

What to watch out for

  • Analytics cover X only, default to the last 30 days, and older data comes on request through support. LinkedIn analytics are described as in development.
  • X Articles need X Premium, publish to X only and cannot be cross-posted. For X video the vendor's pages give a 10 minute cap in the media formats article and also mention 2:20 for third-party apps, so check that if long video matters to you.
  • The time zone belongs to the social set and does not update when you travel, which suits a fixed audience and annoys frequent movers.
  • Planned posts are not in the public API or Zapier yet, and a planned post becomes unpublished if its time passes.
  • Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and YouTube are not supported; the scheduling page FAQ lists Facebook, Instagram and TikTok as planned. A 2024 changelog said Threads needed at least Creator, and I found no current rule, so verify that.

Plans and prices

PlanBilled monthlyBilled annually, per monthUnitWhat you get
Free $0 $0 per month 1 social set, 10 posts/month
Creator Not published $8.25 per month (billed $99/year) 1 social set, 1,000 posts/month, AI, analytics; no teams
Business $20 $18 per social set per month Up to 50 social sets, 1,500 posts/month, unlimited team members

Free plan: 1 social set, 10 posts/month, no AI assistant or analytics; API/Zapier/MCP included

The figures come from the vendor's site code, because the pricing page renders client side and shows nothing readable in plain text, so confirm at checkout. Creator is $99 a year ($8.25 a month), yearly only, and covers one social set with no teams. Business is $20 a month, or $18 on annual billing, per social set, so teammates are free but each extra brand or account group adds a full per-set charge. Post volume is the second limit: 10 a month on Free, 1,000 on Creator, 1,500 on Business. The cheap entry price stops being true when you need collaborators or a second social set. AI has no credits, only daily and monthly limits with no numbers stated, and Extra Usage at token cost plus 20% is off by default. Refund requests are accepted within 14 days.

Networks listed by Typefully

  • Does not support Facebook
  • Does not support Instagram
  • Supports X
  • Supports LinkedIn
  • Does not support TikTok
  • Does not support YouTube
  • Supports Threads
  • Supports Bluesky
  • Does not support Pinterest
  • Does not support Google Business
  • Supports Mastodon

What Typefully does on each network

Only what the vendor's own pages state. A blank cell means the pages do not say.

NetworkPost typesPublishingFirst commentAnalyticsInbox
XpostthreadX Articlepollreplyquote postimageGIFvideoAuto-publishYes
LinkedInpostpollPDF carouselimagevideocompany mentionAuto-publishYesNo
ThreadspostpollimageAuto-publish
Blueskypostquote postimageGIFvideoAuto-publish
Mastodonpostpollquote postimageGIFvideoAuto-publish
X
Needs: X Articles need an eligible X Premium subscription and publish to X only; Typefully analytics support X accounts only
Limits: Thread up to 50 posts; 280 chars (25,000 with Premium). Images JPG/PNG/WEBP 5 MB free, 20 MB paid; GIF 15 MB; video MP4/MOV 512 MB, 10 min
support.typefully.com
LinkedIn
Needs: Personal profiles and LinkedIn Pages; cannot yet @mention individual people (LinkedIn API limit), companies yes
Limits: Images and GIFs 5 MB free, 20 MB paid, up to 36 megapixels; video up to 100 MB; threads are merged into one post
support.typefully.com
Threads
Needs: Changelog of 2024-08-27 said connecting Threads needed at least the Creator plan; current plan rule not read
Limits: Images JPG/PNG/WebP/HEIC, 5 MB free and 20 MB paid, max 6000x6000; video limits not listed
support.typefully.com
Bluesky
Needs: Connects through Bluesky sign-in without app password; custom PDS supported (changelog); available to free and paid users (2024-11-21)
Limits: Bluesky caps images at 1 MB so larger uploads are compressed; video up to 100 MB, max 6000x6000
support.typefully.com
Mastodon
Needs: Cross-post an existing draft or create a Mastodon-only draft
Limits: Images 5 MB free and 20 MB paid (JPG, PNG, GIF, WEBP, HEIC, HEIF, AVIF); video WEBM/MP4/M4V/MOV up to 40 MB, max 60 fps
support.typefully.com

Publishing and scheduling

Calendar views
Flex; Month; Week
Queue
Queue tab; schedule to Next slot, Browse queue or Best time; saved time slots in settings; planned posts occupy a slot so Next slot skips them
Recurring and evergreen posts
Repurpose published posts: duplicate a published post or reschedule it into a queue slot; no recurring or evergreen automation read
Best time suggestions
Suggested Times on X based on audience engagement
Drafts and notes
Drafts with tags, internal title and scratchpad notes; planned state keeps a post on the calendar without scheduling; shared drafts with comments
First comment
LinkedIn: add a comment in the draft that goes live automatically with the post (changelog, January 2025)
Time zones
Uses each Social Set's timezone, not the device; fixed when you travel; changeable in Social Set, Scheduling
Also listed
Natural Posting Times adds up to 4 minutes of variation (changelog, February 2025); Repurpose published posts; X Articles support; Polls on X, LinkedIn, Threads and Mastodon (2026-10-12); Quote posts on Bluesky, Mastodon and Substack (2026-10-09); Choose who can reply to X posts; Substack Notes: up to 10,000 characters, up to 6 images or GIFs, no video, no long-form newsletters; Auto-retweet, auto-plug and auto-DM for X posts; thread finisher templates; LinkedIn PDF carousels up to 100 MB and 300 pages (recommended 5 to 15 slides); Notify a Slack channel when a post goes live (teams plans; changelog dated Jun 1, year not shown); Tags per social set, filterable on Drafts, Queue and calendar; Realistic previews per platform

Sources: support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, typefully.com, support.typefully.com

Teams, approvals and clients

Seats
No cap on teammates; free-account members can join paid teams
Roles
Read-only, Write, Write and Publish, Admin
Approvals
Only members with publish access can schedule, unschedule or publish; edit-only members can draft and plan posts
Client access
Draft sharing by link: anyone with the link can view the draft and comment with a free account
Workspaces and brands
Social sets grouped into teams; moving a set carries drafts, analytics and scheduled posts; each set has own tags and settings

Sources: support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com

Content creation and AI

AI features
Writing Assistant: In-editor AI chat: rewrites, hooks, platform adaptation, voice input; learns style from samples; all plans, limited on Free; Writing Assistant comments: Can work through open draft comments, revise posts and resolve approved comments (2026-10-20); AI Quick Edits: Select text or press the sparkles button: fix grammar, improve, condense, make punchier, custom commands; paid plan; Typefully as Claude connector: Claude can draft, schedule and queue (2026-09-18); AI image descriptions: Generate alt text with AI (changelog item); AI providers: Subprocessor page (2026-03-03) lists OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI, Groq; vendor says data is never used for model training
AI credits
No credits: daily limits reset at midnight in your timezone, monthly limits on billing date; numbers not stated. Extra Usage billed at token cost plus 20%, off by default
Design tools
LinkedIn PDF carousel upload (no designer); Realistic previews per platform; Image editing (beta, changelog)
Templates
Thread finisher templates; writing prompts

Sources: typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com

Analytics and reporting

Metrics
impressions; engagements (likes, reposts, replies, profile clicks, link clicks); engagement rate; profile conversion rate; follower growth; best-performing posts table; engagement by day of week; posting consistency streaks
Report exports
CSV download from any analytics chart
Data history
Last 30 days by default; older data on request via support. Follower count refreshes every 45 minutes; post stats hourly then every 6 hours, final refresh day 3. X only, LinkedIn analytics in development

Sources: support.typefully.com, typefully.com, typefully.com

Inbox and engagement

Automation
X only: auto-retweet (removed after 12 hours), auto-plug at like or retweet threshold, auto-DM (3 campaigns, 30/min, 100/hr, 500/day, active 4 days)

Sources: support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com

Integrations, API and apps

Integrations
Zapier; Slack notifications; Claude; ChatGPT; Cursor; Notion; Substack Notes; Raycast extension; Giphy; Mac app; iOS Shortcuts
Zapier
Yes
MCP server
Yes
Public API
Yes
API docs
https://typefully.com/docs/api
API authentication
Bearer API key from settings; permissions inherited from creating user; per social set READ, WRITE, PUBLISH, ADMIN
API rate limits
Per user and per social set; HTTP 429 with X-RateLimit headers; numeric limits not stated
API plans
Plan tiers not named; HTTP 402 when account paused or a paid plan is required to create or edit drafts
iOS app
No native app read; installable as a progressive web app (Add to Home Screen)
Android app
No native app read; installable as a progressive web app (Add to Home Screen)
Desktop app
Mac app, download at typefully.com/download/mac

Sources: typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com

Pricing details

Billing model
Per social set (per third-party report); vendor pricing page returns no prices to a text fetch. Vendor articles name Free, Creator and Business plans
Annual discount
Monthly and yearly billing can be switched in Settings, Billing; discount size not read from vendor
Trial
A Start free trial button exists at checkout; length not stated by vendor pages read
Free plan
Vendor articles refer to a Free plan (limited Writing Assistant, 5 MB images); third-party blog (OpenTweet, 2026-10-17) reports 10 posts/month, 1 social set
Add-ons
AI Extra Usage: token cost plus 20%, off by default, non-refundable
Overage
AI usage beyond included limits only if Extra Usage is enabled
Discounts
Coupon codes: Add Code at checkout, or a link with coupon parameter
Refunds
Requests within 14 days of purchase via refund page; later requests case by case; approved refunds take 5 to 10 business days
Cancellation
Settings, Billing, Cancel Subscription; moves to free plan and keeps analytics and history
Currencies
USD

Sources: support.typefully.com, opentweet.io, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com

Security and compliance

GDPR
Privacy policy says Typefully will comply with GDPR rights (access, erasure, portability, objection); uses Standard Contractual Clauses
Data location
Site operated in the United States; subprocessors include Vercel, Render, AWS, Cloudflare; deleted content purged within 30 days

Sources: support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, typefully.com

Support and onboarding

Support channels
Help center (Intercom style collections); In-app Help, Contact Support; Contact support for refunds
Help centre
https://support.typefully.com/
Training
Academy and social media glossary pages listed in sitemap, not read

Sources: support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com, support.typefully.com

About the company

Company
Typefully Inc.
Team size
Described as a small team, no headcount; works remotely and asynchronously (jobs page)

Sources: typefully.com, support.typefully.com

Recent product changes

Limits the vendor documents

Pages read for this profile (54)

Pick Typefully if

Pick Typefully if your audience lives on X, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky or Mastodon and you care more about how a post is written and previewed than about a wide channel list. It also suits a small team that wants unlimited collaborators. Skip it if you need Instagram, Facebook, TikTok or YouTube, or if you need analytics beyond X. Skip it too if you must see a price on the vendor's page before you start.

Questions people ask

Does Typefully have a free plan?

Yes. Free is 1 social set and 10 posts a month, with no AI assistant or analytics, and API, Zapier and MCP are included.

Which networks does Typefully support?

X, LinkedIn, Threads, Bluesky and Mastodon, plus Substack Notes. The scheduling page FAQ lists Facebook, Instagram and TikTok as planned, and YouTube is not supported.

How much does Typefully cost to start?

Creator is $99 a year ($8.25 a month), yearly billing only. Business is $20 a month, or $18 on annual billing, per social set. The pricing page renders client side, so confirm these at checkout.

Does Typefully have an API, and can teams use it?

It has a public API with Bearer keys, a Zapier integration and an MCP server. Teams need Business or a legacy Team or Agency plan, and Business lists unlimited team members.

Alternatives

Tools for a similar audience that share the most networks with Typefully.

How we checked

The pricing page is fully client-rendered. Prices come from the official typefully.com JavaScript bundle: the active catalog is 'social_sets_2026_07', with Creator at yearlyPrice 99 (displayed as yearly) and Business at $20/mo or $216/yr per social set. Creator has a monthlyPrice of 10 in the config, but a feature flag ('creatorPlanYearlyOnly') hides monthly billing, so monthly is null. A third-party post (OpenTweet, 2026-10-17) confirms Creator $99/yr yearly-only and Business $20/$18. A 'social set' = one account per network. Also publishes to Substack. The API is available on all plans.

Get an email when a platform changes its API

One email per new entry: what changed, who is affected, and the deadline.

Follow with RSS, or per platform, for example X or Meta.