X API pricing in 2026: pay-per-use, credits and what is still free
The X API runs on prepaid pay-per-use credits: $0.015 to publish a post, $0.20 if it has a link. Current rates, free credits and what changed, from X's own docs.
The X API costs money from the first request in 2026: you buy prepaid credits and pay per call, $0.015 to publish a post and $0.20 when the post contains a link. That affects developers who build on X and every scheduling tool that publishes to X, since each scheduled post now has a price and many tools pass it on to their users.
What this means for you
Using the X API now works like a prepaid card. You load money, and every post or read takes a little off. A plain post costs one and a half cents. A post with a link costs 20 cents, more than 13 times as much.
If you schedule posts through a tool, the tool pays X. That is why some tools charge extra for X or limit how many X posts you get. If you post only now and then, X's own scheduling doesn't touch the API at all: our guide to scheduling posts on X covers where it lives.
Current X API pricing (checked 2026-11-06)
Every figure below comes from X's own developer docs, read on November 6, 2026. X says prices are subject to change and that the Developer Console always shows the current rates.
| What | Price or rule | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | Pay-per-use credits, "no subscriptions" | Pricing page |
| Minimum spend | None ("no contracts, subscriptions, or minimum spend") | Pricing page |
| Create a post | $0.015 per request | Pricing page |
| Create a post with a URL | $0.20 per request | Pricing page |
| Create a summoned reply | $0.01 per request | Pricing page |
| Read a post | $0.005 per post returned | Pricing page |
| Read a user | $0.010 per user returned | Pricing page |
| Owned reads (your own app, your own data) | $0.001 per resource (1,000 for $1) | Pricing page |
| Post reads cap | 3 million per monthly billing cycle | Pricing page |
| Free credit for a first card | $20, once, after the first credit purchase | Free credits page |
| Free match on first auto-recharge | Equal to the recharge, up to $50, once | Free credits page |
| Free credit expiry | 3 months after they are granted | Free credits page |
| Smallest auto-recharge | $5 | Free credits page |
| xAI credits back | 10% from $200, 15% from $500, 20% from $1,000 of spend per cycle | Pricing page |
| Basic and Pro plans | Not stated: the current pricing page lists no subscription plans or prices | Pricing page |
| Enterprise | Not stated: custom pricing through a contact form | Usage and billing page |
| Free tier | Not stated: the current docs don't mention one | Pricing page |
A few rules change what you actually pay. Reads are deduplicated within a 24-hour UTC day, so fetching the same post twice in a day is billed once, though X calls this a soft guarantee. Failed requests are not billed. Some webhook events are free, such as post.delete and dm.sent. Your balance can go slightly negative, and then every request is blocked until you top up.
What it costs in practice. At the listed rates, 30 plain posts a month cost $0.45 in API fees. The same 30 posts with a link in each cost $6. A tool publishing 1,000 link posts a month for its users pays X $200. The arithmetic is ours, the rates are X's.
What is still free
X's docs leave four things at no charge:
- The one-time credits: up to $70 for a new paying account. Since October 13, 2026, saving a card on its own no longer earns the $20; you also have to buy credits.
- Public Utility: a credit program for public-good apps. You request it from a live Exhibit listing, and the X Dev Platform team decides.
- Failed requests and repeat reads: neither is billed, within the deduplication window above.
- Months with no usage: X says there are no monthly minimums, so an idle account costs nothing.
Basic and Pro
When pay-per-use launched, X said Basic and Pro "remain available" and existing subscribers could opt in. X's developer agreement for pay-per-use still names "the Pay-Per-Use, Basic, and Pro plans". The pricing page, though, now says there are no subscriptions and shows no plan prices. X's developer forum has announcement posts saying legacy Basic and Pro plans are moving to pay-per-use, but we couldn't open them to check the dates, so we give none here. If you still pay for Basic or Pro, check your Developer Console.
Timeline: how X API pricing got here
- 2023-06-12: Follows and List Follows endpoints removed from Basic and Pro.
- 2025-08-22: Like and follow endpoints removed from the Free tier, to fight fake engagement.
- 2025-10-20: X announced a closed pay-per-use pilot, with post reads at $0.005 and content creation at $0.01.
- 2026-02-06: Pay-per-use goes live for everyone. Recently active Legacy Free users got a one-time $10 voucher.
- 2026-02-23: Programmatic replies limited to summoned replies on self-serve tiers.
- 2026-04-20: Owned reads drop to $0.001, a post rises to $0.015 and a post with a link costs $0.20. Following, likes and quote posts through the API were removed from all self-serve tiers. X announced it on April 16.
- 2026-10-02: Free credit incentives: $20 for a first card and a match of the first auto-recharge up to $50.
- 2026-10-13: X's free credits page says the $20 now needs a first credit purchase, not just a saved card.
Every X change we track, including media limits and the OAuth 2.0 token exchange, is on the X hub.
What it means for the tools you use
The price per post shows up in scheduler pricing. Our data, read from each vendor's own pages, shows three different answers:
- Metricool charges an X add-on of $10 a month per connected account, and X isn't on its free plan.
- dlvr.it caps X posts per profile and gives X API pricing as the reason. Extra X posts cost $2.50 per 100 a month.
- Zernio passes X API usage through to you at X's rates, on top of its per-account price.
None of these is wrong. A tool that shares a lot of links pays X $0.20 each time, and the cost has to land somewhere. Before you pick a tool for X, look at how it charges for X specifically, not only the headline price.
What to do next
- Business owners: If you post to X a few times a week, schedule inside X and skip the API costs. If you use a tool, check whether X costs extra on your plan.
- Marketers and agencies: Count how many of your X posts carry a link. At $0.20 each, link posts drive the cost, and some clients may do better with the link in a reply or the bio.
- Developers: Set a spending limit in the Developer Console before testing, use owned reads where your app reads its own user's data, and cache reads within the UTC day.
Questions people ask
How much does the X API cost?
X charges per request from prepaid credits, with no subscription or minimum spend. Creating a post costs $0.015, a post containing a URL costs $0.20, and reading a post costs $0.005 per post returned. Reading your own data on qualifying endpoints costs $0.001 per resource.
Is the X API free?
Not for new apps. X's current pricing docs list no free tier, and the February 2026 changelog already called it the Legacy Free tier. New pay-per-use accounts can earn up to $70 in one-time free credits, which expire 3 months after they are granted.
How do X API credits work?
You buy credits in the Developer Console and each request is deducted from your balance. You can turn on auto-recharge and set a spending limit per billing cycle. When the balance runs out, requests are blocked until you add credits.
Do I have to pay for the X API to schedule posts on X?
Only if you build your own tool. Scheduling inside X (X Pro, Media Studio or the Ads Composer) doesn't use the developer API. A third-party scheduler pays X per post and may pass that cost on, for example as an X add-on or a cap on X posts.
Sources
Related
- API
Instagram API versions: what replaced v1 and Basic Display
Basic Display has failed since December 2024 and v1.0 was deprecated in January 2025. What replaced them, a dated timeline of every change and what to do.
- Tools
HubSpot social media tool: what it does, which plan you need, the limits
HubSpot's social tool comes with Marketing Hub Professional, from $800 a month plus $3,000 onboarding. Networks, account limits, approvals, the social agent and what it can't do.
- API
Meta Graph API versions: the newest version and every end date
Graph API v26.0, released July 29, 2026, is the newest version in our changelog, and v21.0 is next to go on January 21, 2027. Every version and end date.
- API
YouTube Data API quota: what each call costs
A new YouTube API project gets 100 uploads, 100 searches and 10,000 units a day. What every scheduling call costs, and how to get more quota.